12 February 2020

  • Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY – the world’s first all-electric touring car race series - returns for Round Three in Mexico City on 15 February 2020
  • Former IndyCar driver Mario Dominguez announced as the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY VIP driver in Mexico City
  • ZEG iCarros Jaguar Brazil enter a third car with Adalberto Baptista joining the team
  • David Cheng and Manuel Cabrera replace Zhang Yaqi and Chao Sun for Jaguar China Racing
  • eTROPHY races to be streamed live and free via on direct to smart TVs

12 February 2020, Whitley, UK: After a thrilling double header opening weekend in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia in November 2019, with Simon Evans and Sérgio Jimenez securing the first two wins of the season, the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY returns for round three in Mexico City, Mexico. The race will commence on Saturday 15 February at 14:00 local time as the official support series to the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

Mario Dominguez, former IndyCar driver, joins the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY as VIP Driver for Round Three in Mexico City on 15 February 2020.

The Mexican racing driver made his IndyCar Championship Series debut in 2002 and became Rookie of the Year, with his first victory at the Indy 300. In 2008, Dominguez announced that he would enter the remainder of the 2008 IndyCar Series season with Pacific Coast Motorsports. A year later he was announced as the driver for K plus K Motorsport in the FIA GT Championship.

Season 2, Mexico E-Prix, Mario Domínguez
Season 2, Mexico E-Prix, Mario Domínguez
Season 2, Mexico E-Prix, Mario Domínguez

I am really looking forward to racing in front of my home crowd in Mexico City, the atmosphere is going to be electrifying. This will be my first time competing in an electric race car and I cannot wait to get behind the wheel of the I-PACE eTROPHY and push it to its limits.

Mario Domínguez
Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY VIP Driver

Takuma Aoki, former World Superbike and Grand Prix motorcycle road racer, joins the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY racing for Team Yokohama Challenge. The Japanese racer will create history as the first disabled person to compete in an international electric race series from round three.

Season 2, Mexico E-Prix, Takuma Aoki

Brazilian driver Adalberto Baptista has joined the series for ZEG iCarros Jaguar Brazil. The team have entered a third car alongside defending champion Sérgio Jimenez and the returning Cacá Bueno.

Baptista competed in the 2015 Renault Sport Trophy, part of the World Series by Renault, for Oregon Team, alongside former Paris eTROPHY VIP Driver, Archie Hamilton, finishing P12 in the prestige class. 

In 2018, Adalberto finished P2 in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Brazil (4.0). Most recently he competed in the 2019 Porsche Império GT3 Cup Brazil (4.0).

I am honoured to join the ZEG iCarros Jaguar Brazil team alongside Sérgio and Cacá. They have shown how competitive and exciting the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY series is, and I can’t wait to line up on the grid in Mexico City this week.

Adalberto Baptista
Jaguar Brazil Racing driver
Season 2, Mexico E-Prix

David Cheng, the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY VIP driver in Sanya last season, and Mexican racing driver Manuel Cabrera, will be stepping in for Zhang Yaqi and Sun Chao, driving for Jaguar China Racing. Zhang and Chao are unfortunately unable to attend the Mexico City E-Prix due to flight limitations imposed by airlines due to the current Coronavirus outbreak.

We are looking forward to racing again in Mexico City. It is great to see some new faces on the grid, including Adalberto Baptista, Takuma Aoki and Manuel Cabrera. The Mexico City crowds are extremely passionate so we hope they enjoy watching the series for the second time. I’d also like to extend a warm welcome to local VIP driver Mario Dominguez who will be joining us this weekend.

Mark Turner
Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Series Manager
Season 2, Mexico E-Prix

The Mexico City eTROPHY qualifying and race will be broadcast live and free on allowing fans a seamless opportunity to stream the action direct to their smart TVs via the You Tube app.